The Railway Stakes is Perth's premier sprinting feature

    Luckygray wins the Railway Stakes

    Railway Stakes Betting Tips

    Punters can expect to be offered a Railway Stakes bonus bet closer to race time. Most bonus bet offers occur if your selected runner finishes second or third in the Railway Stakes.
    Railway Stakes betting tips and odds will also be available when the field is released.

    Railway Stakes Odds

    All-in odds for the Railway Stakes are offered in the months leading up to the Group 1 feature. 

    For final-field odds, those will be released three days before the Railway Stakes takes place.

    Railway Stakes Bookmaker Offers

    Bookmakers will have Railway Stakes bookie offers available closer to the race. These can include better odds or bonus bet offers for running second and third in the race. 

    Look out for updated Railway Stakes bookie offers.

    Railway Stakes History

    One of the older races on the Australian racing calendar, the Railway Stakes was first run in 1887 when Nimrod was too good for the sprinting field. 

    Since that time, the Railway Stakes has only become more popular around Australia and it was given Group 1 status relatively early in 1979, when many of Australia’s now Group 1’s was still racing at group two level. 

    From 2011-2015, the Railway Stakes race day was the richest in Perth history, with the Winterbottom Stakes also on the card, but the Winterbottom was moved to the following Saturday in 2016. 

    Four horses have done the Railway Stakes/Winterbottom Stakes double, including Better Loosen Up, Old Comrade, Modem and Sniper’s Bullet. 

    Originally run over 2000, the Railway Stakes has been run over the mile since 1984.

    Railway Stakes Field

    The field for the Railway Stakes will be confirmed in the days leading up to the race. 

    We will update the field when it’s released by RISA. 

    Railway Stakes Form Guide

    The Railway Stakes is worth $1 million and that means it’s a heavily-contested Group 1, with horses coming from all around Australia to take part.
    In recent times, the local Perth-trained runners have had success, with the likes of Galaxy Star, Great Shot and Scales of Justice scoring from 2016-2018. 

    The majority of winners have been trained in Perth, despite the rising number of Victorian-trained horses coming across the country for the riches. The last non-Perth-trained runner to win was Good Project in 2015. 

    Australian champions Better Loosen Up, Northerly and Carbine were all past winners of the Railway Stakes and they held cement a legacy of quality Group 1 racing in Perth.

    Railway Stakes Previous Winners

    2018Galaxy Star
    2017Great Shot
    2016Scales of Justice
    2015Good Project
    2014Elite Belle
    2012Mr Moet
    2009Sniper's Bullet
    2008Gilded Venom
    2007El Presendente
    2006Belle Bizare
    2002Old Fashion
    2001Old Comrade

    Railway Stakes Live Streaming

    Punters can watch the Railway Stakes at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

    Railway Stakes Race Schedule

    The Railway Stakes features on a nine-race card at Ascot in late November. The meeting also includes the WA Guineas and Jungle Mist Classic. 

    Race 1: WA Trophy 
    Race 2: R72 Handicap 
    Race 3: WA Stakes 
    Race 4: Ark Stakes 
    Race 5: Tattersall’s Cup 
    Race 6: Jungle Mist Classic 
    Race 7: WA Guineas 
    Race 8: Railway Stakes 
    Race 9: R66 Handicap