The Doomben Cup is one of the premier middle-distance races held during the Brisbane Winter Carnival in May. Won by some of Australia’s rising staying stars, the Doomben Cup is a must watch to kick off the winter racing season.

    Kenedna comes back to scale after the Doomben Cup win

    Doomben Cup Betting Tips

    We will have final-field tips for the Doomben Cup when it is released three days prior to the running, however, punters can bet into the market around four months before the Doomben Cup is run. 

    Bookmakers offer a comprehensive 2020 Doomben Cup market with all the major runners covered. 

    Doomben Cup Odds

    Bookmakers don’t currently have any odds available for the 2020 Doomben Cup but we will update them when they are released.

    Doomben Cup Bookmaker Offers

    The following bookmaker are offering Doomben Cup bonus bet deals.

    Doomben Cup History

    The Doomben Cup is one of the premier Group 1 races held during the Brisbane Winter Carnival and it has been running since 1933. 

    First won by Pentheus, it has since been taken out by some of Australia’s best middle-distance types. 

    Past winners include Bernborough, Might And Power and Rough Habit, which won it three times in a row from 1991-1993. 

    In recent Doomben Cup history, it has been taken out by progressive stayers which haven’t been able to compete against some of the strong cup fields. That’s not blight on the runners lining up year-to-year, however, as it always presents a good field. 

    The great trainer TJ Smith won the Doomben Cup three times with Lord Nelson, Cheyne Walk and Marceau. Kiwi trainer John Wheeler would later add three of his own with Rough Habit. 

    Might And Power scored a win in the Doomben Cup following his win in the 1997 Melbourne Cup. 

    He would later go on to win the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley later that year.

    Doomben Cup Field

    The field for the 2020 Doomben Cup won’t be confirmed until early March when RISA releases the final field, barrier draw and weights. 

    The Doomben Cup field consists of around 16 runners. 

    The field is determined by prize money, class and various other handicapping factors.  

    Doomben Cup Form Guide

    Staying races are never overly kind to favourite punters and the Doomben Cup is no different. Due to the track conditions and wide-open fields, there have been many upset results. 

    In more recent years, more European exports have come over and had success in the Cup, including Our Ivanhowe in 2016. 

    It’s best to look for horses that can handle the sting out of the ground. Doomben in May is often wet and that can trip a lot of the fancied runners up. 

    Doomben Cup Previous Winners

    2018Comin’ Through
    2017Sense of Occasion
    2016Our Ivanhowe
    2013Beaten Up
    2011Scenic Shot
    2010Metal Bender
    2009Scenic Shot
    2007Cinque Cento
    2006Above Deck
    2003Bush Padre
    2002Mr. Bureaucrat
    2001King Keitel

    Doomben Cup Live Streaming

    Punters can livestream the Doomben Cup at Beteasy or bet365. The Australian-based bookmakers shows all Australian and New Zealand racing live and all you need to do is have a positive account balance. 

    To live stream the 2020 Doomben Cup, sign up with Beteasy or bet365.

    Doomben Cup Race Schedule

    Below are the dates, times and betting schedule for the Doomben Cup and the 8 supporting races on the big card. 

    DateMay 17, 2020
    Track Doomben
    Distance 2000m
    Prize Money$650,000

    The Doomben Cup is one of 9 quality betting races, which also includes the JRA Plate, Bright Shadow Quality and the BRC Sprint. 

    • Race 1: Rating 75 
    • Race 2: Rating 75 
    • Race 3: Bill Carter Stakes 
    • Race 4: JRA Plate 
    • Race 5: Bright Shadow Quality 
    • Race 6: Chief de Beers 
    • Race 7: BRC Sprint 
    • Race 8: Doomben Cup 
    • Race 9: The Roses 

    Doomben Cup Barrier Draw

    We will have all barrier draws available when the draw is done during the week of the 2020 Doomben Cup. 

    The barrier draw is a big tool used by punters to make their early bets. 

    2019 Doomben Cup Result

    1st – Kenedna 
    2nd - Life Less Ordinary 
    3rd - Sixties Groove 

    Kenedna scored the win after bursting through the pack. It held off a fast-finishing Life Less Ordinary, which came from last on the turn. 

    Doomben Cup Replay 2019

    The 2019 Doomben Cup replay shows Kenedna scoring its second win this campaign, this time coming at the Group 1 level. 

    Kenedna wins the Doomben Cup

    Doomben Cup FAQ

    When is the 2020 Doomben Cup? 

    The 2020 Doomben Cup runs on Saturday May 17, 2020. 

    How long is the Doomben Cup?
    The staying contest is run over 2000m. 

    Where is the Doomben Cup held? 

    The Doomben Cup is held at Doomben, which is located in Brisbane, Australia. 

    What time does the Doomben Cup run? 

    The Doomben Cup is held at 3:40pm. 

    Who won the 2019 Doomben Cup? 

    Kenedna won the 2019 Doomben Cup. 

    Who won the 2018 Doomben Cup? 

    Comin’ Through. 

    What’s the prize money for the 2020 Doomben Cup? 

    $650,000 is the total prize pool for the 2020 Doomben Cup.