Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand

    Run for $200,000, the BCD Sprint has been won by many of NZ’s best horses

    Xtravagant wins the BCD Group Sprint

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Betting Tips

    We will have BCD Group Sprint betting tips when markets are available.

    The BCD Sprint was run as the Waikato Sprint for years and it’s one of the premier sprint races on the New Zealand calendar. 

    Run for $200,000, the BCD Sprint has been won by many of NZ’s best horses, but none more popular than champion mare Sunline, which scored consecutive wins in 2001 and 2002 and they were seen as exhibition gallops to most punters. 

    It remains one of the most popular betting races throughout the year.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Odds

    All-in odds for the BCD Sprint are released around a month in advance but the final field is confirmed a few days before the race. 

    We will have all the latest odds for the BCD Sprint when markets are released by bookmakers.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Bookmaker Offers

    Bookmakers will have bookie offers for the BCD Sprint closer to the race time. Typically, bookmakers will offer bonus bets for running second or third in the major races.

    Bcd Group Sprint History

    Rich in history, the BCD Sprint has a past winners’ list that would rival any Group 1 race in Australia. Names like Sunline, Veandercross, Mr Tiz, Darci Brahma, Seachange, Mufhasa, Tavistock and Melody Belle all feature. 

    Trainer Trevor McKee has won the BCD Sprint four times. His first win came with Sunline in 2001 before scoring another win in 2002 with the champion mare. 

    Another dual winner would come along for the McKee team in Mufhasa. The striking runner scored in 2009 and 2011. 

    Start Wondering emulated Sunline by going back-to-back in 2017-2018 after returning from the Chris Waller stables in Sydney. 

    It has become a great race for future stallions with the likes of Darci Brahma and Tavistock winning in recent history.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Field

    A race targeted by New Zealand’s best sprinters, the BCD Sprint might not have the biggest stakes among the sprint races in New Zealand but it holds plenty of prestige. 

    That makes for a terrific field every February on a track which generally plays in the good to dead range. 

    We will have the confirmed field when it’s released by the NZTR.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Form Guide

    Much like the Herbie Dyke Stakes run on the same day, the BCD Sprint is often won by a champion sprinter. 

    The last winners’ list is an extensive history of New Zealand’s best sprinters and there have been plenty of middle-distance types win as well. Sunline was best over 1600-2040m and the likes of Xtravagant, Melody Belle and Darci Brahma were all capable middle-distance horses. 

    The 1400m distance makes it more open than holding it at 1200m so punters need to look at form of not just sprinters, but also those looking to stretch out to longer distances later in the year.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Previous Winners

    2019Melody Belle
    2018Start Wondering
    2017Start Wondering
    2015Sacred Star
    2013Final Touch
    2007Darci Brahma
    2003Tit For Taat
    2000Tall Poppy

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Live Streaming

    Punters can watch the BCD Sprint at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand.

    Bcd Group Sprint New Zealand Race Schedule

    The BCD Sprint is one of two Group 1 races on the February card at Te Rapa. Along with the Herbie Dyke Stakes, the BCD Sprint features on the nine-race card. 

    In total there are four group races, which also includes the Sir Tristram Fillies’ Classic and the Waikato Guineas. 

    Race 1: 2YO SW&P 
    Race 2: Benchmark R82 
    Race 3: Benchmark R65 
    Race 4: Sir Tristram Fillies’ Classic 
    Race 5: Waikato Guineas 
    Race 6: Benchmark R82 
    Race 7: Herbie Dyke Stakes 
    Race 8: BCD Group Sprint 
    Race 9: Benchmark R72