Tony Mcevoy
Despatch wins The Goodwood for Tony McEvoy

The Goodwood Betting Tips

We will have final-field tips for the The Goodwood when it is released three days prior to the running, however, punters can bet into the market around four months before The Goodwood is run. 

Bookmakers offer a comprehensive 2019 The Goodwood market with all the major runners covered.

The Goodwood Odds

Bookmakers don’t currently have any odds available for 2020 The Goodwood but we will update them when they are released.  

The Goodwood Bookmaker Offers

The following bookmaker are offering The Goodwood bonus bet deals. 

The Goodwood History

Formerly known as the Goodwood Handicap, The Goodwood was first run 1881, which is earlier than many punters would have thought. 

Despite being held in Adelaide, which isn’t as strong as Melbourne and Sydney, The Goodwood continues to attract the best sprinters in Australia. 

The Goodwood has been won by the likes of Black Caviar, Santa Ana Lane and Takeover Target – all of which represented Australia overseas. 

Because it’s held in May, many of The Championships’ sprinters are in the spelling paddock, which leaves The Goodwood wide open. 

The $1 million stake makes it a race worth targeting and it was given Group 1 status in 1980 when Marjoleo was victorious. 

Two runners, Mostyn and Musket Belle, have won The Goodwood twice. Trainer Walter Hickenbotham scored five wins from 1901 to 1910. 

South Australian rider John Letts also won five times from 1961 to 1984. 

The Goodwood Field

The field for the 2020 The Goodwood won’t be confirmed until early May when RISA releases the final field, barrier draw and weights. 

The Metropolitan field consists of around 18 runners. 

The field is determined by prize money, class and various other handicapping factors. 

The Goodwood Form Guide

The Goodwood is held in May, which suits the horses staying in work after The Championships which are held in April. 

That opens The Goodwood field up to runners from not only Adelaide, but Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.
Form out of the Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket has stacked up well in the past but punters should always look for the local runners to win.
One trainer to follow is Tony McEvoy. He’s an Adelaide man who trains in Melbourne. He lined up 2019 winner Despatch and his stable continues to pump out Group 1 types.
The winner of The Goodwood has typically gone on to win other Group 1 races.

Many of its winners have won overseas, including Black Caviar and Takeover Target, which both won at Royal Ascot. 

The Goodwood Previous Winners

2018Santa Ana Lane
2017Vega Magic
2016Black Heart Bart
2014Smokin’ Joey
2012Black Caviar
2011Lone Rock
2009Takeover Target
2007Let Go Thommo
2006Perfectly Ready
2005Glamour Puss
2004Super Elegant
2003Bomber Bill
2002Zip Zip Aray

The Goodwood Live Streaming

Punters can livestream The Goodwood at Beteasy or bet365. The Australian-based bookmakers shows all Australian and New Zealand racing live and all you need to do is have a positive account balance. 

To live stream the 2020 The Goodwood, sign up with Beteasy or bet365.

The Goodwood Race Schedule

Below are the dates, times and betting schedule for The Goodwood and the 7 supporting races on the big card. 

DateMay 17, 2020
ConditionsSet Weights
Prize Money$1 million

The Goodwood is one of 8 quality betting races, which also includes Proud Miss Stakes and SA Fillies Classic. 

It’s a highlight meeting at Morphettville. 

  • Race 1: National Stakes 
  • Race 2: Centaurea Stakes 
  • Race 3: Queens Cup 
  • Race 4: SA Fillies Classic 
  • Race 5: RA Lee Stakes 
  • Race 6: Proud Miss Stakes 
  • Race 7: The Goodwood 
  • Race 8: Rating 75

The Goodwood Barrier Draw

We will have all barrier draws available when the draw is done during the week of the 2020 The Goodwood. 

The barrier draw is a big tool used by punters to make their early bets.  

2019 The Goodwood Result

1st – Despatch 
2nd - Behemoth 
3rd - Spright 

Despatch scored by a neck over Behemoth and Spright, which had a bet of $100,000 placed on him.

The Goodwood 2019 Replay

The 2019 Goodwood replay shows the Tony McEvoy-trained Despatch holding off a strong challenge from the well-favoured types.

Tony McEvoy
Despatch wins The Goodwood for Tony McEvoy

The Goodwood FAQ

When is the 2020 The Goodwood? 

The 2020 Goodwood runs on Saturday May 17, 2020. 

How long is the The Goodwood? 

The sprinting contest is run over 1200m. 

Where is The Goodwood held? 

The Goodwood is held at Morphettville, which is located in South Australia. 

What time does The Goodwood run? 

The Goodwood is held at 3:55pm. 

Who won the 2019 Goodwood? 

Despatch won the 2019 Goodwood. 

Who won the 2018 Goodwood? 

Santa Ana Lane. 

What’s the prize money for the 2020 Goodwood? 

$1 million is the total prize pool for the 2020 Goodwood