Volkstok'n’Barrell wins the Herbie Dyke Stakes in New Zealand

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Betting Tips

We will have Herbie Dyke betting tips when markets are released.

The Herbie Dyke Stakes, formerly known as the New Zealand International Stakes, is a Group 1 in New Zealand and it runs for a big stake of $400,000, making it the richest weight-for-age race in NZ. 

Held at Te Rapa in Hamilton, the Herbie Dyke Stakes winners’ list features some of New Zealand’s premier thoroughbreds from years gone by. Names such as Bonecrusher, The Phantom Chance and La Mer have all won the feature. 

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Odds

All-in odds for the Herbie Dyke Stakes are released around a month in advance but the final field is confirmed a few days before the race. 

We will have all the latest odds when markets are released by bookmakers.

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Bookmaker Offers

Bookmakers will have bookie offers for the Herbie Dyke Stakes closer to the race time. Typically, bookmakers will offer bonus bets for running second or third in the major races.

Herbie Dyke Stakes History

First run in 1970 as the New Zealand International Stakes, the Herbie Dyke Stakes has long been one of the NZ’s top weight-for-age races and that was acknowledged in 2017 when the purse was increased to $400,000. 

It was called the International Stakes because the Waikato Racing Club invited overseas jockeys to ride in the race. Champion UK rider Lestor Piggot scored a win in 1972 aboard Sailing Home. 

It was run every two years at that stage but became a regular fixture on the NZ Racing calendar in 1978. 

Many of the past winners have competed overseas, including Australian Group 1 winners Sangster and Volkstok’n’Barrell. 

The most popular victory came in 2007 when the “people’s champion” Sir Slick was victorious.

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Field

The field contains the best weight-for-age runners in New Zealand. Due to the conditions, the field contains both top older horses combined with the younger rising stars of the New Zealand turf. 

We will have the confirmed field when it’s released by the NZTR.

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Form Guide

It takes a good horse to win the Herbie Dyke Stakes as history has shown. Top WFA horses Volkstok’n’Barrell, Soriano and Sangster have all taken out the Herbie Dyke Stakes. 

It pays to look at the form of the older horses. They have a great record in the Herbie Dyke Stakes and although the light-weight horses might have more appeal, you need a battle-tested thoroughbred to take out this Group 1. 

The 2000m distance also makes it an interesting betting race as many of the three-year-old runners are stepping up in distance to potentially run in the New Zealand Derby a month later.

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Previous Winners

2019On The Rocks
2018Lizzie L’Amour
2016Valley Girl
2012Shez Sinsational
2011Red Ruler
2010Veloce Bella
2009Mac O’Reilly
2008Mission Critical
2007Sir Slick
2005The Jewel
2003Greene Street
2002Emerald Dream
2000Bluebird The Word

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Live Streaming

Punters can watch the Herbie Dyke Stakes at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

Herbie Dyke Stakes New Zealand Race Schedule

The Herbie Dyke Stakes is one of two Group 1 races on the February card at Te Rapa. Along with the BCD Group Sprint, the Herbie Dyke Stakes features on the nine-race card. 

In total there are four group races, which also includes the Sir Tristram Fillies’ Classic and the Waikato Guineas. 

Race 1: 2YO SW&P 
Race 2: Benchmark R82 
Race 3: Benchmark R65 
Race 4: Sir Tristram Fillies’ Classic 
Race 5: Waikato Guineas 
Race 6: Benchmark R82 
Race 7: Herbie Dyke Stakes 
Race 8: BCD Group Sprint 
Race 9: Benchmark R72