Ace High
Ace High wins the 2017 Spring Champion Stakes.

Spring Champion Stakes Betting Tips

The Spring Champion Stakes is one of Sydney's best indcators for future champion status which means picking a winner can lead to finding a new favourite racehorse going forward.

Check back closer to the race date for our detailed Spring Champion Stakes betting tips.

Spring Champion Stakes Odds

The Spring Champion Stakes odds for both the fixed and tote markets will be released in teh week leading into the event.

Visit this page in the lead up to the race for a detailed look at both.

Spring Champion Stakes Bookmaker Offers

While the focus is usually on Melbourne during the spring it would be remiss of the corporates to ignore Sydney during this time.

Any bookie worth their salt will deliver Spring Champion Stakes bookmaker offers and we're confident the companies below will be issuing promotions on this feature.

Spring Champion Stakes History

Starting in 1971, the Spring Champion Stakes has been a staple of Sydney racing over the last four decades.

It only took eight years for this event to gain Group 1 status and the race was originally known as the Australasian Champion Stakes before having its name changed to the current one back in 1978.

The race has been a champion-making event over the course of its journey. 

Soon-to-be stars Kingston Town, Beau Zam and Tie the Knot all won this race as three-year-olds before putting together glittering careers.

Spring Champion Stakes Field

The Spring Champion Stakes field will be finalised in the week leading into the event.

Check back closer to the race date for a detailed look at the Spring Champion Stakes final field.

Spring Champion Stakes Form Guide

The Spring Champion Stakes has been about the breeding since its inception.

In recent years the big name sires such as High Chaparral, Galileo, Octagonal, and Zabeel have produced winners in this race.

The Victoria Derby being a race that is tightly linked to this event, with runners Sangster and Lion Tamer two gallopers that raced in the Spring Championship Stakes before winning the Derby.

Check back in the lead up to the Spring Champion Stakes for our complete form guide to the event.

Spring Champion Stakes Previous Winners

2018Maid Of Heaven
2017Ace High
2016Yankee Rose
2014Hampton Court
2012It's A Dundeel
2011Doctor Doom
2009Monaco Consul
2007Race Not Hold
2005Hotel Grand
2002Platinum Scissors
2001Viking Ruler
2000Universal Prince

Spring Champion Stakes Live Streaming

Spring Champion Stakes live streaming can be done by signing up with online bookmaker BetEasy.

BetEasy is currently the only online bookie offering live streaming on NSW races, but signing up is free so if you want to stream the Spring Champion Stakes all you need to do is register an account.

Spring Champion Stakes Info

  • DateSat 26 Oct, 2024
  • Race Time06:45
  • RacecourseRandwick
  • Race Distance2000 metres
  • Conditions3yo - Set Weights
  • StatusGroup 1
  • Prize Money$1,000,000
The Spring Champion Stakes is run in October at Sydney's Randwick racecourse.

The rest of the Spring Champion Stakes race schedule is below.

Race 1: Benchmark 74
Race 2: Highway Handicap
Race 3: Benchmark 78
Race 4: Open Handicap
Race 5: Clark Jacobs Mile
Race 6: Roman Consul Stakes
Race 7: Spring Champion Stakes
Race 8: Angst Stakes
Race 9: Benchmark 78

Spring Champion Stakes Barrier Draw

The Spring Champion Stakes barrier draw is conducted in the week leading into the event. 

Check back in the days before the race for the complete Spring Champion Stakes barrier draw.

Spring Champion Stakes 2018 Result

1st - Maid Of Heaven
2nd - Aramayo
3rd - Thinkin' Big
Maid Of Heaven
Rachel King on Maid Of Heaven wins the 2018 Spring Champion Stakes.

Spring Champion Stakes FAQ

When is the 2019 Spring Champion Stakes? 

The 2019 Spring Champion Stakes runs on Saturday, October 5, 2019. 

How long is the Spring Champion Stakes? 

The staying contest is run over 2000m. 

Where is the Spring Champion Stakes held? 

The Spring Champion Stakes is held at Randwick, which is located in Sydney, Australia. 

What time does the Spring Champion Stakes run? 

The Spring Champion Stakes is held at 4pm. 

Who won the 2018 Spring Champion Stakes

Maid Of Heaven won the 2019 Spring Champion Stakes. 

What’s the prize money for the 2019 Spring Champion Stakes

$500,000 is the total prize pool for the 2019 Spring Champion Stakes.