Mufhasa was a winner of the Captain Cook Stakes in NZ before travelling the world

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Betting Tips

We will have Captain Cook Stakes betting tips when markets are released.

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Odds

All-in odds for the Captain Cook Stakes are released around a month in advance but the final field is confirmed on the Wednesday before the race.

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Bookmaker Offers

Bookmakers will have bookie offers for the Captain Cook Stakes closer to the race time. Typically, bookmakers will offer bonus bets for running second or third in the major races. 

Captain Cook Stakes History

The Captain Cook Stakes became the Captain Cook Stakes in 1977 after it was originally called the Marlboro Stakes. 

Since then it has been taken out by some of New Zealand’s finest thoroughbreds. Copper Belt was the first winner for Kevin Gray and the past winners include the likes of Solveig for Trevor McKee and Colin Curnow, Rough Habit for John Wheeler and Ballroom Babe for Graeme Sanders. 

In 2009 the Captain Cook Stakes was moved to December to avoid a clash with the Hawke’s Bay Spring Carnival and the winners since have resulted in a benefit from the change.
Many older types have won, excluding Danzdanzdance which scored nicely in 2018. The more experienced types, which have been saved for the race seem to excel.

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Field

The field for the Captain Cook Stakes is released on the Wednesday morning prior to the race.

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Form Guide

The Captain Cook Stakes is a great form guide for the Zabeel Classic later that month and Danzdanzdance is the latest runner to complete the double. 

Held over 1600m at Trentham, the Captain Cook Stakes is often won by New Zealand’s best middle-distance horses but sprinters also have a good record in the race. 

Champion sprinter Mufhasa was a winner in 2011 for Stephen McKee and that was followed up with a win by Final Touch for South Island trainers John & Karen Parsons. 

Despite being a weight-for-age race, it’s often won by the older types. Julinsky Prince and Aide Memoire went back-to-back in 2015 and 2016 for minor upset results.
Shuka scored consecutive Captain Cook Stakes wins in 2013 and 2014.

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Previous Winners

2016Aide Memoire
2015Julinsky Prince
2012Final Touch
2010We Can Say It Now
2006Jurys Out
2003Penny Gem
2002Tit For Taat/Elevenses
2001Hello Dolly
2000Cinder Bella

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Live Streaming

Punters can watch the Captain Cook Stakes at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

Captain Cook Stakes New Zealand Race Schedule

There are 9 races on the Captain Cook Stakes card at Trentham, which also includes the Wakefield Challenge Stakes. 

Race 1: 3YO Premier 
Race 2: R82 Handicap 
Race 3: R82 Handicap 
Race 4: Wakefield Challenge Stakes 
Race 5: R65 Handicap 
Race 6: R65 Handicap 
Race 7: Premier SP Handicap 
Race 8: Captain Cook Stakes 
Race 9: R72 Handicap