Who Shot Thebarman
Who Shot Thebarman took out the 2018 Sydney Cup.

Sydney Cup Betting Tips

The Sydney Cup is one of the key events of The Championships, which means it is best to follow the form from the staying contests earlier in the year.

Check back heading towards The Championships for our detailed Sydney Cup betting tips.

Sydney Cup Odds

The Sydney Cup fixed odds and tote markets are released in the days leading into the event.

Once the barrier draw is completed the Sydney Cup odds should be released.

Sydney Cup Bookmaker Offers

The Sydney Cup is one of Australia's favourite staying race which means the corporates are more than happy to provide promotions on the event.

The bookies below deliver Sydney Cup bookmaker offers, so check back before the race for a look at what promotions are on offer.

Sydney Cup History

The Sydney Cup is one of Australia's favourite staying races and without question the second-best two mile event in the country.

First run and won in 1862 by Talleyrand, the race didn't gain Group 1 status until almost 120 years later when Kingston Town took out the 1980 event.

Known as the Randwick Grand Handicap Sweepstakes early, the race was renamed the Sydney Cup in 1966 after an influx of prize money.

Winning the Melbourne/Sydney Cup double has proved to be one of the hardest dual races to claim in Australian racing history with just Makybe Diva, Galilee, Straight Draw, Carbine, The Barb and Lord Cardigan the only horses to deliver.

Today the Sydney Cup is run as part of The Championships and is one of the meet's most prestigious events.

Sydney Cup Field

The Sydney Cup field should be finalised in the week leading into the race.

Check back here in the build up for our detailed look at the Sydney Cup field.

Sydney Cup Form Guide

There aren't too many two mile raes on the Australian calendar which means following the runs from this event, the Melbourne Cup and the Andrew Ramsden Stakes is pivotal.

In recent times a decent run in the Melbourne Cup has been a good indicator of a quality Sydney Cup stint. Who Shot Thebarman was a multiple Melbourne Cup place getter before claiming the 2018 Sydney Cup.

If you visit this page in the days before the staying race we'll deliver your Sydney Cup form guide.

Sydney Cup Previous Winners

2018Who Shot Thebarman
2015Grand Marshal
2014The Offer
2011Stand To Gain
2009Ista Kareem
2008No Wine No Song
2006County Tyrone
2004Makybe Diva
2003Honor Babe
2002Henderson Bay
2001Mr. Prudent

Sydney Cup Live Streaming

The Sydney Cup is ran at Randwick in NSW which means the only online bookmaker that you can stream the race is at BetEasy.

Sign up today and you can can watch the Sydney Cup live streaming video.

Sydney Cup Race Schedule

The Sydney Cup is one of four Group 1 races run as part of day one of The Championships.

DateSaturday, April 11, 2020
Prize Money$2 million

The remainder of the Sydney Cup race schedule is below.

Race 1: Kings Of Sydney Sport Mile
Race 2: The Agency South Pacific Classic
Race 3: Provincial Championships Final
Race 4: Percy Sykes Stakes
Race 5: Arrowfield 3YO Sprint
Race 6: Australian Oaks
Race 7: Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Race 8: Sydney Cup
Race 9: Coolmore Legacy Stakes
Race 10: Sapphire Stakes

Sydney Cup Barrier Draw

The Sydney Cup barrier draw is conducted in the week leading into the event.

Check back in the days leading into the race for our take on the Sydney Cup barrier draw.

Sydney Cup 2019 Results

1st - Shraaoh
2nd - Vengeur Masque
3rd - Glory Days
Shraaoh wins the 2019 Sydney Cup.

Sydney Cup FAQ

 When is the 2020 Sydney Cup? 

The 2020 Sydney Cup runs on Saturday April 11, 2020. 

How long is the Sydney Cup? 

The sprint-staying contest is run over 2000m. 

Where is the Sydney Cup held? 

The Sydney Cup is held at Randwick, which is located in Sydney, Australia. 

What time does the Sydney Cup run? 

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is held at 4pm. 

Who won the 2019 Sydney Cup? 

Shraaoh took out the 2019 Sydney Cup.

What is the prize money for the 2020 Sydney Cup?

$2 million is the total prize pool for the Sydney Cup.