Land Of Plenty
Land Of Plenty took out the 2018 Toorak Handicap.

Toorak Handicap Betting Tips

The Toorak Handicap is one of four Group 1 races on the mid-October card at Caulfield and it’s a quality betting race.

Punters from Australia, New Zealand and around the world bet on the Toorak Handicap as the field is even with plenty of each-way betting hopes.

We will have final-field tips for the Toorak Handicap when it is released three days prior to the running, however, punters can bet into the market around four months before the Toorak Handicap is run.

Bookmakers offer a comprehensive 2019 Toorak Handicap market with all the major runners covered.

Toorak Handicap Odds

Bookmakers don’t currently have any odds available for the 2019 Toorak Handicap but we will update them when they are released.

Toorak Handicap Bookmaker Offers

The following bookmakers are offering Toorak Handicap bonus bet deals.

  • bet365
  • BetEasy

Toorak Handicap Field

The field for the 2019 Toorak Handicap won’t be confirmed until October 9 when RISA releases the final field, barrier draw and weights.

The Toorak Handicap field consists of 18 runners and four emergency runners in case of scratchings. The field is determined by prize money, class and various other handicapping factors.

Toorak Handicap Form Guide

A key lead-up race is the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes held three weeks prior to the Toorak Handicap. It’s run under the same conditions and is run at Caulfield, so it’s the logical preparation.

Form out of the Toorak Handicap often stacks up nicely in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Recent winners haven’t been stars of the turf, but they are all solid milers in their own right. Former trainer Darren Weir has a good record in the race with many recent winners, including 2018 winner Land of Plenty.

There has been a good mix of middle-distance and staying winners, which has made it tough for punters to identify the winner.

Punters should look at form from prior Melbourne Spring Carnivals as a good for the Toorak Handicap.

Toorak Handicap Previous Winners

2018Land of Plenty
2017Tosen Stardom
2016He’s Our Rokki
2015Lucky Hussler
2014Trust In A Gust
2011King Mufhasa
2010More Joyous
2009Allez Wonder
2007Divine Madonna
2006Red Dazzler
2005Barely A Moment
2004Regal Roller
2003Roman Arch
2002Shot Of Thunder
2001Show A Heart

Toorak Handicap Live Streaming

Punters can livestream the Toorak Handicap at Beteasy. The Australian-based bookmaker shows all Australian and New Zealand racing live and all you need to do is have a positive account balance.

To live stream the 2019 Toorak Handicap, sign up with Beteasy.

Toorak Handicap  Race Schedule

Below are the dates, times and betting schedule for the Toorak Handicap and the nine supporting races on the big card.

DateOctober 12, 2019
Prize Money$500,000

The Toorak Handicap is one of 10 quality betting races, which also includes the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes, Thousand Guineas and Caulfield Guineas.

  • Race 1: Debutant Stakes
  • Race 2: Weekend Hussler Stakes
  • Race 3: Thoroughbred Club Stakes
  • Race 4: Cape Grim Beef Stakes
  • Race 5: Schillaci Stakes 
  • Race 6: Thousand Guineas
  • Race 7: Toorak Handicap
  • Race 8: Caulfield Stakes
  • Race 9: Caulfield Guineas
  • Race 10: Herbert Power Stakes

Toorak Handicap History

The first Toorak Handicap was run in 1881 when taken out by Josephine and although the quality of recent winners has dipped a touch, past winners include some champion names.

Galilee, Gunsynd and More Joyous have won the Toorak Handicap, which is often targeted by the second-rate Group 1 milers in Australia.

Not to take away from the past winners, the Toorak Handicap used to be a good lead-up to the Caulfield Cup – with the winner being exempt – but the last Toorak Handicap/Caulfield Cup double winner came in 1974 with Leilani.

Champion stayer Galilee was able to win the Toorak Handicap/Caulfield Cup/Melbourne Cup treble in 1966, a feat which has never been replicated.

For eight years, the Toorak Handicap was known as both The IXL and The Elders Mile, before returning to the Toorak Handicap in 1990.