C F Orr Stakes
Luke Currie riding Manuel defeats Kementari in the C F Orr

C F Orr Stakes Betting Tips

Check back for our C F Orr Stakes betting tips when bookmakers release their markets.

C F Orr Stakes Odds

All-in odds for the C.F. Orr Stakes are released around a month in advance but the final field is confirmed on the Wednesday before the race. 

We will have all the latest odds for the C.F. Orr Stakes when markets are released by bookmakers. 

C F Orr Stakes Bookmaker Offers

Bookmakers will have deals and bonus bet offers for the C F Orr Stakes when the market is available.

The following bookmakers will have offers.

C F Orr Stakes History

The first C.F. Orr Stakes was run in 1925 and was named after Charles F. Orr, a former chairman of the Williamstown Racing Club, where the first race was held. 

Now held at Caulfield, having been raced at Moonee Valley, Flemington and Sandown, the C.F. Orr Stakes is a popular race as it officially kicks off the new year at the Group 1 level in Melbourne. 

Punters love betting on the race as it always features some of Australia’s best thoroughbreds and that’s evident in the past winners’ list. 

Originally run as a weight-for-age with penalties contest, it was changed to handicap from 1943-1945, but now remains as a WFA race. 

C F Orr Stakes Field

The field for the C.F. Orr Stakes is released on the Wednesday morning prior to the race.

We will have the field when it’s confirmed by RISA. 

C F Orr Stakes Form Guide

Figuring out which horses to back in the C.F. Orr Stakes can be tricky as the past winners have come from all walks of life. 

It has been won by sprinters, middle-distance types and many Melbourne Cup entrants. Saintly was a winner in 1997 after it had won the Melbourne Cup in 1996, so for a 3200m stayer to win a 1400m race fresh up was quite incredible. 

The race has been dominated by 2000m+ horses in recent history with the likes of Hartnell, Dissident and All Too Hard scoring recent wins, but prior to that there was a period of sprinters taking out the C.F. Orr Stakes. 

It’s a tough race to do form on but stick with the classy types that draw well around a tricky Caulfield track.

C F Orr Stakes Previous Winners

2017Black Heart Bart
2014Moment of Change
2013All Too Hard
2012Black Caviar
2011Typhoon Tracy
2010Typhoon Tracy
2007El Segundo
2006Perfect Promise
2001Desert Sky
2000Redoute's Choice

C F Orr Stakes Live Streaming

Punters can watch the C.F. Orr Stakes at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

The race replay of the 2019 C.F. Orr Stakes shows Manuel going straight to the front and kicking clear to hold off a strong challenging pack.

C F Orr Stakes Race Schedule

The C.F. Orr Stakes is the eighth race on a nine-race schedule at Caulfield, which also includes the Blue Diamond Preludes for fillies, colts and geldings. 

The 2019 edition was run at 4:50 AEST. 

  • Race 1: Big Screen Company Handicap 
  • Race 2: Kevin Hayes Stakes 
  • Race 3: Bellmaine Stakes 
  • Race 4: Rubiton Stakes 
  • Race 5: Blue Diamond Prelude 
  • Race 6: Blue Diamond Prelude 
  • Race 7: Autumn Stakes 
  • Race 8: C.F. Orr Stakes 
  • Race 9: Carlyon Stakes