Zabeel Classic
Opie Bosson riding Danzdanzdance celebrates winning the Cambridge Stud Zabeel Classic

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Betting Tips

We will have Zabeel Classic betting tips when markets are available.

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Odds

All-in odds for the Zabeel Classic are released around a month in advance but the final field is confirmed on the Wednesday before the race.

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Bookmaker Offers

Bookmakers will have bookie offers for the Zabeel Classic closer to the race time. Typically, bookmakers will offer bonus bets for running second or third in the major races.

Zabeel Classic New Zealand History

The first Zabeel Classic running came in 1985 and it has since been attributed as one of the best Group 1 races in New Zealand. 

Held on Boxing Day since been moved from January to December in 2015, the Zabeel Classic has become a staple of the Christmas racing circuit at Ellerslie and it’s one of the better form guide races in New Zealand. 

Prior to it being moved to December, the NZ Derby runners used to have great success. The likes of Zonda and Hail scored wins in the Zabeel Classic following the Derby but that can no longer happen, with the NZ Derby being moved to March. 

Listed Latta and Jeff Lynds have scored two wins in the Zabeel Classic. Latta the most recent with Authentic Paddy in 2017.

The Lynds-trained Vosne Romanee has the current race record with a time of 2:00.60.

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Field

The field for the Zabeel Classic is released on the Wednesday morning prior to the race.

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Form Guide

It takes a good horse to win the Zabeel Classic and that’s evident in the past winners list. It used to be a race that favoured the younger horses at the weight-for-age, with winners including Zonda, St Reims and Hail all winning as youngsters. 

That trend has changed in recent times with the likes of Consensus, Kawi and Soriano winning, but 2018 saw Danzdanzdance win as a three-year-old. 

Form out of the Zabeel Classic stacks up nicely and there have been some names associated with Australian racing win the Zabeel Classic. Expats Shane Dye and Greg Childs scored wins in 1998 and 2003, with Damien Oliver coming over to ride Zonda to victory in 2001. 

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Previous Winners

2017Authentic Paddy
2011Shez Sinsational
2009Vosne Romanee
2008Gallions Reach
2007Sir Slick
2006Mikki Street

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Live Streaming

Punters can watch the Zabeel Classic at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

Zabeel Classic New Zealand Race Schedule

There are 10 races on the Boxing Day card at Ellerslie, which also includes the Eight Carat Classic and Uncle Remus Stakes. 

  • Race 1: Stayers Classic Qualifier 
  • Race 2: 2YO Stakes 
  • Race 3: R82 Handicap 
  • Race 4: Uncle Remus Stakes 
  • Race 5: R72 Handicap 
  • Race 6: Eight Carat Classic 
  • Race 7: Dustan Feeds Championship 
  • Race 8: Hallmark Stud Handicap 
  • Race 9: Zabeel Classic 
  • Race 10: R65 Handicap