Leicester took out the 2018 South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby Betting Tips

Check back in the lead up to this Group 1 event for our detailed South Australian Derby betting tips.

South Australian Derby Odds

The South Australian Derby odds for both the fixed and tote markets will be released in the build up to the race.

Check back here prior to the running of the race for a detailed look at the South Australian Derby odds.

South Australian Derby Bookmaker Offers

The South Australian races don't always get the attention that the other states do but in the quieter winter months Morphettville is one of Australia's main attractions.

This means the bookies like Sportsbet and Neds will roll out South Australian Derby bookmaker offers and promotions on the Group 1 event.

South Australian Derby History

The inaugural running of the South Australian Derby was on 5 January 1860 at Thebarton Racecourse which is located today in Mile End. Back then race was called The Thebarton Derby and it was taken out by Midnight.

The distance has jumped around eight different times over the course of its lifetime before settling on the 2500m trip back in 2005.

There's a real connection with the Melbourne Cup and this race. Fan favourite Subzero did the double as did 1961 winner Gatum Gatum. Assyrian is another that took out the SA Derby in 1880 before winning the race that stops a nation two years later.

South Australian Derby Field

The South Australian Derby field is released in the week leading into the event.

Check back here for our detailed look at the South Australian Derby field.

South Australian Derby Form Guide

The South Australian Derby is the last race for the three-year-olds to sneak a Group 1 win in before the end of the racing season.

The staying event previously was a race that attracted runners from around the country but now South Australian and Victorian gallopers are the ones that mainly compete for the Derby.

Check back in the lead up to the South Australian Derby for our detailed form guide to the event.

South Australian Derby Previous Winners

2017Volatile Mix
2016Howard Be Thy Name
2011Shadows In The Sun
2009Rebel Raider
2007Lazer Sharp
2005Tails Of Triomphe
2004Hard To Get
2001Big Pat
2000Blue Murder

South Australian Derby Live Streaming

For those wanting to experience the South Australian Derby live streaming all you need to do is sign up with an online bookmaker like Ladbrokes.

The South Australian Derby can be live streamed via most online bookmakers, all you need to do is have money in your account.

South Australian Derby Race Schedule

The South Australian Derby is run in late May at the state's premier racetrack Morphettville.

DateSaturday, May 9, 2020
ConditionsSet weights
Prize Money$500,000

The other races on the South Australian Derby race schedule are below.

Race 1: SA Sires' Produce Stakes
Race 2: Autumn Series Final
Race 3: Open Handicap
Race 4: Benchmark 90
Race 5: Provincial Super Series Final
Race 6: Adelaide Guineas
Race 7: South Australian Derby
Race 8: SA Sprint Series Final

South Australian Barrier Draw

The South Australian barrier draw will be conducted in the days leading into the Group 1 feature.

Check back in the days before the race for our detailed look at the South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby 2019 Result

1st - Qafila
2nd - Savvy Oak
3rd - Mr Quickie
Qafila claimed the 2019 South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby FAQ

When is the 2020 South Australian Derby? 

The 2020 South Australian Derby runs on Saturday May 9, 2020. 

How long is the South Australian Derby? 

The staying contest is run over 2500m. 

Where is the South Australian Derby held? 

The Rosehill Guineas is held at Morphettville, which is located in Adelaide, Australia. 

What time does the South Australian Derby run? 

The South Australian Derby is held at 4:35pm. 

Who won the 2019 South Australian Derby

Qafila took out the 2019 running of the race.

What’s the prize money for the 2020 South Australian Derby

$500,000 is the total prize pool for the 2020 South Australian Derby.