VRC Sprint
Santa Ana Lane defeats In Her Time in the VRC Sprint

VRC Sprint Classic Betting Tips

We will have all the updated VRC Sprint Classic betting tips, odds and bonus bets when they become available.

VRC Sprint Classic bonus bets will be offered in the days leading up to the race.

VRC Sprint Classic Odds

All-in odds for the VRC Sprint Classic are offered in the months leading up to the Group 1 feature. 

For final-field odds, those will be released three days before the VRC Sprint Classic takes place.

VRC Sprint Classic Bookmaker Offers

Bookmakers will have VRC Sprint Classic bookie offers available closer to the race. These can include better odds or bonus bet offers for running second and third in the race. 

Look out for updated VRC Sprint Classic bookie offers.

VRC Sprint History

The VRC Sprint Classic was inaugurated in 1960 and became a Group 1 race just 19 years later in 1979. It’s considered one of the best sprint races on the Australian racing calendar and that’s evident with its past winners. 

Run under weight-for-age conditions, the VRC Sprint Classic has been called many different names throughout the years. Some of the more recognisable are the Patinack Farm Classic, Darley Classic and Salinger Stakes. 

The stake of $1 million is enough to attract the big players and after being originally run on the first day of the carnival, it was changed to Day 4 in 2006. 

Famous wins in recent history came from Black Caviar, which scored consecutive wins in 2010 and 2011. Another popular winner was Redzel in 2017. He would back up his Everest victory at Flemington.

VRC Sprint Classic Field

The field for the VRC Sprint Classic will be confirmed in the days leading up to the race.

We will update the field when it’s released by RISA during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

VRC Sprint Classic Form Guide

Held on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the VRC Sprint Classic is one of the last chances punters get to bet on the best horses in Australia. 

Known as the Darley Sprint for three years from 2014-2017, the VRC Sprint Classic has been won by the top-flight sprinters in Australia, which includes recent winners Redzel and Santa Ana Lane. Both have been good performers in other sprint races, such as The Everest and the form out of the VRC Sprint Classic holds up nicely. 

Punters should look for the sprinters which haven’t been in work throughout the winter and they could be fresh up for the VRC Sprint Classic. 

It’s a race down the Flemington straight and some horses simply don’t handle straight racing. 

Horses that have experience running at Flemington is a bonus and there aren’t too many upset winners of the VRC Sprint Classic. It’s a tough race to win with the likes of Black Caviar, Miss Andretti, Buffering and Takeover Target winning since 2004. 

VRC Sprint Classic Previous Winners

2018Santa Ana Lane
2011Black Caviar
2010Black Caviar
2009All Silent
2007Miss Andretti
2006Dance Hero
2005Glamour Puss
2004Takeover Target
2003Ancient Song
2000Easy Rocking

VRC Sprint Classic Live Streaming

Punters can watch the VRC Sprint Classic at Beteasy, which has two channels to live stream every race in Australia and the feature races in New Zealand. 

VRC Sprint Classic Race Schedule

The VRC Sprint Classic is on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, which also features the Mackinnon Stakes on the nine-race card. 

  • Race 1: R96 Trophy 
  • Race 2: Foundation Plate 
  • Race 3: Springtime Stakes 
  • Race 4: Chatham Stakes 
  • Race 5: Queen Elizabeth Stakes 
  • Race 6: Matriarch Stakes 
  • Race 7: VRC Sprint Classic 
  • Race 8: Mackinnon Stakes 
  • Race 9: R80 Handicap