One of the Sydney Spring Carnival features, The Metropolitan is a staying race held at Randwick. Run over 2400m, it’s one of the main staying features of the calendar year.

    Patrick Erin
    Patrick Erin scores The Metropolitan in a driving finish

    The Metropolitan Betting Tips

    We will have final-field tips for The Metropolitan when it is released three days prior to the running, however, punters can bet into the market around four months before the The Metropolitan is run. 

    Bookmakers offer a comprehensive 2019 The Metropolitan market with all the major runners covered. 

    The Metropolitan Odds

    Bookmakers don’t currently have any odds available for the 2019 Metropolitan but we will update them when they are released.

    The Metropolitan Bookmaker Offers

    The following bookmaker are offering The Metropolitan bonus bet deals. 

    The Metropolitan History

    One of Australia’s more time-honoured races, The Metropolitan was first run in 1863. It has remained as one of Australia’s biggest staying races. 

    The first winner was Regno in 1863 and since then some of Australia’s biggest thoroughbred names have etched their name on the trophy. Ming Dynasty, Redcraze and Beau Vite were all champions. 

    Many horses have won The Metropolitan twice but no horse has won it three times. 

    The quality of winners has taken a dip in recent history. This is due to many connections deciding on a different path to the Caulfield and Melbourne Cup. No runner has ever completed the treble. 

    However, 2005 winner Railings and 2006 winner Tawqeet completed The Metropolitan/Caulfield Cup double. 

    The Metropolitan Field

    The field for the 2019 Metropolitan won’t be confirmed until early October when RISA releases the final field, barrier draw and weights. 

    The Metropolitan field consists of around 18-20 runners. 

    The field is determined by prize money, class and various other handicapping factors. 

    The Metropolitan Form Guide

    Only two favourites have won The Metropolitan in the last 10 years. Like many staying races, The Metropolitan favours runners paying juicy odds. 

    Staying races in Australia are more-wide open than anywhere in the world and The Metropolitan is no different. 

    In recent years there have been some big upset results and finding value odds with bookmakers is not hard to come by. 

    Follow the form out of The Metropolitan for races such as the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup. Less so with the Melbourne Cup, as it’s best form guide is now international racing. 

    The Metropolitan Previous Winners

    2018Patrick Erin
    2016Sir John Hawkwood
    2015Magic Hurricane
    2012Glencadam Gold
    2011The Verminator
    2010Herculian Prince
    2009Speed Gifted
    2007No race
    2004County Tyrone
    2002Victory Smile
    2001Dress Circle
    2000Coco Cabanna

    The Metropolitan Live Streaming

    Punters can livestream The Metropolitan at Beteasy or bet365. The Australian-based bookmakers shows all Australian and New Zealand racing live and all you need to do is have a positive account balance. 

    To live stream the 2019 Metropolitan, sign up with Beteasy or bet365.

    The Metropolitan Race Schedule

    Below are the dates, times and betting schedule for The Metropolitan and the 8 supporting races on the big card.

    DateOctober 5, 2019
    Prize Money$750,000

    The Metropolitan is one of 9 quality betting races, which also includes the Premiere Stakes, Epsom Handicap and Flight Stakes. 

    It’s one of the best betting meetings of the year in Sydney. 

    Race 1: Gimcrack Stakes 
    Race 2: Breeders’ Plate 
    Race 3: Dulcify Quality 
    Race 4: Hill Stakes 
    Race 5: Premiere Stakes 
    Race 6: Flight Stakes 
    Race 7: Epsom Handicap 
    Race 8: The Metropolitan 
    Race 9: Rating 88

    The Metropolitan Barrier Draw

    We will have all barrier draws available when the draw is done during the week of the 2019 Metropolitan. 

    The barrier draw is a big tool used by punters to make their early bets. 

    2018 The Metropolitan Result

    1st – Patrick Erin 
    2nd - Brimham Rocks 
    3rd - Sikandarabad 

    Kiwi runner Patrick Erin scored a win at 15.10 when beating Brimham Rocks by a head in one of the closest finishes in The Metropolitan history.

    2019 The Metropolitan Replay

    The 2018 Metropolitan replay shows Patrick Erin hitting the line with purpose and holding off Brimham Rocks on the line.

    Patrick Erin
    Patrick Erin winning The Metropolitan at Randwick

    The Metropolitan FAQ

    When is the 2019 The Metropolitan? 

    The 2019 Metropolitan runs on Saturday October 5, 2019. 

    How long is the Metropolitan? 

    The staying contest is run over 2400m. 

    Where is The Metropolitan held? 

    The Metropolitan is held at Randwick, which is located in Sydney, Australia. 

    What time does The Metropolitan run? 

    The Metropolitan is held at 4:45pm. 

    Who won the 2018 The Metropolitan? 

    Patrick Erin won the 2018 The Metropolitan. 

    Who won the 2017 The Metropolitan? 


    What’s the prize money for the 2019 The Metropolitan? 

    $750,000 is the total prize pool for the 2019 Metropolitan.