Santa Ana Lane
Santa Ana Lane kicks away to win the TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick

T J Smith Stakes Betting Tips

We will have final-field tips for the TJ Smith Stakes when it is released a week prior to the running, however, punters can bet into the market around four months before the TJ Smith Stakes is run. 

Bookmakers offer a comprehensive 2019 TJ Smith Stakes market with all the major runners covered. 

T J Smith Stakes Odds

Bookmakers don’t currently have any odds available for the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes but we will update them when they are released.

T J Smith Stakes Bookmaker Offers

The following bookmaker are offering TJ Smith Stakes bonus bet deals.  

T J Smith Stakes History

First run in 1997 as the Endeavour Stakes, the TJ Smith Stakes hasn’t been around overly long but is now one of Australia’s finest sprint races. 

Named after master trainer Thomas John Smith – the winner of 33 Sydney premierships and father to Gai Waterhouse, the TJ Smith Stakes has been taken out by some quality champions. 

Past winners include Apache Cat, Takeover Target, Black Caviar and three-time winner Chautauqua.  

The TJ Smith Stakes has created some of the best moments in Australian racing history and it’s one reason why punters love betting on it. 

A staple on Day 1 of The Championships, the TJ Smith Stakes is surrounded by quality races and that just adds to the interest. 

It’s now worth $2.5 million, which only adds to the interest. 

From 2015-2017, Chautauqua won three TJ Smith Stakes. The potent sprinter captured the imagination of many.

T J Smith Stakes Field

The field for the 2019 TJ Smith Stakes won’t be confirmed until late March when RISA releases the final field, barrier draw and weights. 

The TJ Smith Stakes field consists of 14 runners. 

T J Smith Stakes Form Guide

The TJ Smith Stakes is one of the best sprinting form guides in Australia. The form out of the TJ Smith Stakes stacks up in the Melbourne Spring Carnival, the following autumn carnival and in The Everest.
It also has a good record supplying overseas winners, which includes Apache Cat, Takeover Target and Black Caviar. 

Many sprinters use the TJ Smith Stakes as their first run of the season, but that doesn’t detract from the race itself. 

Punters should look for horses that have performed at high levels in the past and those that run best right handed.

T J Smith Stakes Previous Winners

2019Santa Ana Lane
2018Trapeze Artist
2014Lankan Rupee
2013Black Caviar
2012Master of Design
2011Black Caviar
2009Takeover Target
2008Apache Cat
2007Bentley Biscuit
2006Red Oog
2004Dilly Dally
2003Spinning Hill
2002Phoenix Park
2001Century Kid
2000Shy Hero

T J Smith Stakes Live Streaming

Punters can livestream the TJ Smith Stakes at Beteasy or bet365. The Australian-based bookmakers shows all Australian and New Zealand racing live and all you need to do is have a positive account balance. 

To live stream the 2029 TJ Smith Stakes, sign up with Beteasy or bet365. 

T J Smith Stakes Race Schedule

Below are the dates, times and betting schedule for the TJ Smith Stakes and the 9 supporting races on Day 1 of The Championships. 

DateApril 4, 2020
Prize Money$2.5 million

The TJ Smith Stakes is one of 10 quality betting races, which also includes the Doncaster Mile, Australian Derby and Inglis Sires. 

Race 1: Kindergarten Stakes 
Race 2: Carbine Club Stakes 
Race 3: Adrian Knox Stakes 
Race 4: Country Championships Final 
Race 5: Chairman’s Quality 
Race 6: Inglis Sires 
Race 7: Australian Derby 
Race 8: TJ Smith Stakes 
Race 9: Doncaster Mile 
Race 10: PJ Bell Stakes

T J Smith Stakes Barrier Draw

We will the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes barrier draw when it is made available. 

The barrier draw is a big tool used by punters to make their early bets. 

2019 T J Smith Stakes Result

1st – Santa Ana Lane 
2nd – Osborne Bulls 
3rd - Sunlight 

Santa Ana Lane scored another Group 1 victory by storming home to win by 3.5 lengths. 

2019 T J Smith Stakes Replay

The 2019 TJ Smith Stakes replay shows Santa Ana Lane scoring his best career win when winning by 3.5 lengths over a quality field. 

Santa Ana Lane
Santa Ana Lane winning the T J Smith Stakes in fine style

T J Smith Stakes FAQ

When is the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes? 

The 2020 TJ Smith Stakes runs on Saturday April 4, 2020. 

How long is the TJ Smith Stakes? 

The sprinting contest is run over 1200m. 

Where is the TJ Smith Stakes held? 

The TJ Smith Stakes is held at Randwick, which is located in Sydney, Australia. 

What time does the TJ Smith Stakes run? 

The TJ Smith Stakes is held at 4:35pm. 

Who won the 2019 TJ Smith Stakes? 

Santa Ana Lane won the 2019 TJ Smith Stakes. 

Who won the 2018 TJ Smith Stakes? 

Trapeze Artist 

What’s the prize money for the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes? 

$2.5 million is the total prize pool for the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes.